Education

Education creates options for the personal life paths of each and every individual as well as for the future development and prosperity of our society.

Education provides prospects© Adobe Stock | Foto: Jacek Chabraszewski

The challenges of demographic change and of a looming skills shortage can only be addressed if everyone in Germany is given an opportunity for a sound education and the best possible support in developing his or her talent – irrespective of background and material resources. This requires the cooperation of all decision-makers. Since 2008, the Federal Government and the Länder have been committed to greater equity in education, better performance and improved possibilities for transfer within the education system as part of the Qualification Initiative for Germany.

The joint efforts are paying off, as shown by the following examples: There has been a considerable increase in day care provision for children under the age of three. Since 2005, the percentage of people qualified to enter higher education has increased from 43% to well over 50%. The percentage of school leavers who have not achieved a Hauptschule lower secondary leaving certificate [i.e. no formal school qualification at all] fell from 8.1% in 2005 to 6.5% in 2017.

More than half of each year group enter higher education. In 2016, 50% of people were participating in continuing education. Education expenditure rose from about 175 billion euros in 2010 to over 200 billion euros in 2017.

The digital transformation is posing new challenges for the education system. Digital education will therefore be a focal area in the coming years. The Digital Pact for Schools will provide the requisite conditions for digital education. The Federal Government will be providing a total of five billion euros over the next five years to develop digital infrastructure at schools.

Bildung

Bildung schafft Perspektiven – für den persönlichen Lebensweg jeder und jedes Einzelnen, aber auch für die Zukunft und den Wohlstand unserer Gesellschaft.

Bildung schafft Perspektiven© Adobe Stock | Foto: Jacek Chabraszewski

Die Herausforderungen des demografischen Wandels und eines drohenden Fachkräftemangels können nur bewältigt werden, wenn alle Menschen in Deutschland die Chance auf gute Bildung und die bestmögliche Unterstützung bei der Entfaltung ihrer Talente erhalten – unabhängig von ihrer Herkunft und ihren materiellen Ressourcen. Hierzu ist ein Zusammenwirken aller Verantwortlichen erforderlich. Seit 2008 engagiert sich die Bundesregierung gemeinsam mit den Ländern im Rahmen der Qualifizierungsinitiative für Deutschland für mehr Bildungsgerechtigkeit, größere Leistungsfähigkeit und verbesserte Durchlässigkeit im Bildungssystem.

Die gemeinsamen Anstrengungen tragen Früchte, wie folgende Beispiele zeigen: Das Betreuungsangebot für Kinder unter drei Jahren ist deutlich gestiegen. Seit 2005 ist die Studienberechtigtenquote von 43 % auf deutlich über 50 % gestiegen. Der Anteil der Schulabgängerinnen und Schulabgänger ohne Hauptschulabschluss sank von 8,1 % in 2005 auf 6,5 % in 2017.

Mehr als jede/jeder Zweite eines Jahrgangs beginnt ein Studium. Die Weiterbildungsbeteiligung lag 2016 bei 50 %. Die Bildungsausgaben sind von rund 175 Milliarden Euro im Jahr 2010 auf über 200 Milliarden Euro im Jahr 2017 gestiegen.

Die Digitalisierung stellt das Bildungssystem vor neue Herausforderungen. Digitale Bildung wird darum in den nächsten Jahren ein Schwerpunkt sein. Mit dem Digitalpakt Schule werden die Voraussetzungen dafür geschaffen. Insgesamt fünf Milliarden Euro stellt der Bund in den nächsten fünf Jahren für den Aufbau digitaler Infrastruktur an den Schulen bereit.