Terms A-Z

This glossary contains definitions of the terms from the topic areas Education, Science, Research and Innovation, and is regularly updated. The glossary terms are alphabetically ordered.

EU – European Union

The European Union comprises the following 28 member states: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and United Kingdom.

EU19 refers to the 15 member states of the European Union before the enlargement of 1 May 2004 plus four Eastern European OECD countries (Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and Slovakia).

EU22 refers to the EU member states that are also members of the OECD. Not included are Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Lithuania, Malta, and Romania.