International Comparison

Globalization has become a fact. The question is no longer whether to act globally but how good we are at it. International comparisons provide a means of orientation. The results show that Germany is in an excellent position!

Most international comparisons place Germany among the best in terms of innovativeness and competitiveness© thinkstock

On the European Commission's Innovation Index 2016, Germany ranks fifth in the leading group and with regard to world-market relevant patents per one million inhabitants, Germany is top placed in international comparison. The same applies to the scientific publications per one million inhabitants. In 2015, Germany ranked with 1,340 publications ahead of the USA and about 27% ahead of the EU average.

In the area of education, Germany is also maintaining a good position: The results of PISA 2015 show that Germany is significantly above the OECD average (mathematics: 490 points, reading: 493 points, science: 493 points) in all three domains (mathematics: 506 points, reading: 509 points, science: 509 points). Germany has improved its results in all the three tested domains in comparison to the first PISA survey in 2000.

Internationalization is one of the Federal Government's priorities in this legislative period. It is pursuing the aim of making even better use of the potential and opportunities of international cooperation. At the same time, Germany will face up to its global responsibility, namely to find pioneering answers to the challenges of globalization and to shape solutions – for example for an even more sustainable economy, the turnaround of the energy system or in the context of skilled staff, migration and professional mobility. Furthermore, international collaborations provide an opportunity to define Germany's role more clearly in the merging economic, science and education areas and to increase efficiently the presence of German science and research abroad. Europe is a mainstay of Germany's international commitment.

Internationaler Vergleich

Die Globalisierung ist heute Realität. Es geht nicht mehr nur darum, ob wir global handeln, sondern wie gut wir hierbei sind. Der internationale Vergleich liefert dafür eine Orientierungshilfe. Die Ergebnisse bestätigen: Deutschland steht ausgezeichnet da!

Die meisten internationalen Vergleiche sehen Deutschland bei der Innovations- und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit weit vorn© thinkstock

Im Innovationsindex 2016 der Europäischen Kommission gehört Deutschland auf Platz fünf zur Spitzengruppe und bezogen auf weltmarktrelevante Patente pro Millionen Einwohner übernimmt Deutschland im internationalen Vergleich einen der vorderen Plätze. Gleiches gilt auch für die Anzahl der wissenschaftlichen Veröffentlichungen pro Million Einwohner. Hier lag Deutschland 2015 mit 1.340 Veröffentlichungen or den USA und rund 27 % über dem EU-Durchschnitt.

Auch im Bildungsbereich kann Deutschland mithalten: Die Ergebnisse von PISA 2015 zeigen, dass Deutschland in allen drei Domänen (Mathematik: 506 Punkte, Lesekompetenz: 509 Punkte, Naturwissenschaften: 509 Punkte) signifikant über dem OECDDurchschnitt (Mathematik: 490 Punkte, Lesekompetenz: 493 Punkte, Naturwissenschaften: 493 Punkte) liegt. Im Vergleich zur ersten PISA-Erhebung im Jahr 2000 hat sich Deutschland in allen drei Test-Domänen verbessert.

Internationalisierung ist ein Schwerpunkt der Bundesregierung in dieser Legislaturperiode. Ziel der Bundesregierung ist es dabei, Potenziale und Chancen, die in der internationalen Kooperation liegen, noch stärker auszuschöpfen. Gleichzeitig wird sich Deutschland seiner globalen Verantwortung stellen: wegweisende Antworten auf die Herausforderungen der Globalisierung zu finden und Lösungen mitzugestalten – beispielsweise zur noch nachhaltigeren Wirtschaft, Energiewende oder den Fragen nach Fachkräften, Migration und beruflicher Mobilität. Außerdem bieten internationale Kooperationen die Chance, in den zusammenwachsenden Wirtschafts-, Wissenschafts- und Bildungsräumen die Rolle Deutschlands noch deutlicher zu definieren und die Präsenz der deutschen Wissenschaft und Forschung im Ausland noch effizienter zu gestalten. Europa ist dabei ein zentraler Pfeiler des internationalen Engagements Deutschlands.

In diesem Bereich werden alle Tabellen zu Themen aus den Kapiteln 0-2 ausgewiesen, die einen internationalen Bezug haben.